Mofo Day 1: Cookbook Obsession – Review of Chloe’s Kitchen

[Welcome!  I am very excited to be participating in this year’s Vegan Month of Food.  I hope to be able to blog throughout the month.  If I suddenly go missing for a few days, it will be because I am in the hospital having my first baby.]

I own  a lot of cookbooks.  After I bought my 40th book, I decided I was a cookbook collector.  Just the permission I needed to keep on buying.  Since I own 50 plus cookbooks, I don’t often buy general vegan or vegetarian cookbooks anymore.  I made an exception for Chloe’s Kitchen after flipping through it.  The book contains approximately 125 recipes, most with beautiful color photos.  Most of the recipes are quick and easy to make, but the results usually taste like I put in a lot more time and effort.  Some of my favorite recipes so far include the Orange You Glad I Made Crispy Tofu, Penne a la Vodka and Pancakes.  The only fail so far has been the Easy Peasy Pasta Salad.  I just did not like the flavor of the dressing.

You can never go wrong with Cinnamon Rolls (p. 229).  Chloe’s recipe is easy to make and yields tasty results.  Next time, I will reduce the amount of sugar in the filling because the sugar became a bit grainy when the rolls cooled.  I replaced one tsp. of the water in the glaze recipe with vanilla extract for a vanilla flavored glaze.

Image

These are the Peanutty Perfection Noodles (p. 141), which are rice noodles in a coconut milk based peanut sauce.  The coconut milk gives the peanut sauce a unique twist.  The recipe (plus the steamed brocolli I served with it) came together in less than 30 minutes.

Image

The Southern Skillet Black-Eyed Peas (p. 187) were another winner.  (I didn’t get a photo of the biscuits that went alongside).  I don’t like black-eyed peas, so I substituted white beans.  I recommend making this recipe a day ahead of when you plan to enjoy it.  The day I made the beans, they didn’t taste like anything special.  The flavor was much better after a night in the fridge.

Image

4 Comments

Filed under Book reviews, Cookbooks

4 responses to “Mofo Day 1: Cookbook Obsession – Review of Chloe’s Kitchen

  1. I don’t have this one, but my oh my, you are making me want it!

  2. I am doing a cookbook challenge to cook every recipe from Chloe’s Kitchen.
    Hope you don’t mind that I added your post to my blog page under “Others who made it”.
    http://eileenlikestoeat.com/2013/06/10/cookbook-challenge-chloes-kitchen-peanutty-perfection-noodles/

  3. Pingback: [Cookbook Challenge] Chloe’s Kitchen – Peanutty Perfection Noodles

Leave a Reply

