Mofo 3: The Giving Mutt with Shelby – Beagle Freedom Project

[Wherein Shelby discusses her favorite charities.]

Kitties I like.  Other dogs, not so much.  When I’m on my walks and I see another dog, I usually bark.  If the other dog barks at me, I bark louder — especially if the other dog is the big rottweiler that lives across the street.  That’s right, Rocky, that bandana does make your neck look fat.  Rooowrf!

But I digress.  This is a post about the time I went on a hike with Freedom, one of the very first dogs rescued by the Beagle Freedom Project, which rescues dogs from laboratories and places them in loving homes.  Back in 2011, Freedom and I and a big golden retreiver met up in Malibu with some of our human friends for a hike and picnic.  When I saw Freedom, I immediately started barking because he was, after all, another dog.  To my surprise, Freedom did not bark back.  I was pleased until I learned that Freedom had been “de-barked.”  That’s what the lab people call it when they cut the lab dogs’ vocal cords so that the dogs cannot cry in pain during lab experiments.  After that, I decided maybe I should try to be nicer.

For the rest of our hike, I was a very good girl.  I didn’t even get mad at Mom when she dropped me in a stream.  (I told her that we shouldn’t try to cross it).  Freedom was a good dog too.  He enjoyed running around in open fields for the very first time.  After our hike, we played together.  I chased Freedom in circles (he only ran counter-clockwise, which his Mom thinks is the direction he paced in his lab cage) and I tried to teach him how to beg for food from the humans.  They had vegan peanut butter cookies, but Freedom wasn’t interested.  He just wanted attention from the humans.

Meeting Freedom reminded me of how lucky I am to have a good home, but lots of other dogs aren’t so lucky.  Since rescuing Freedom, the Beagle Freedom Project has rescued more than 40 other dogs.  If you’d like to help, they are currently looking for foster and forever homes for rescues and also accept donations.  Check out their photo gallery for pictures of some of the rescues.

Me and my favorite Beagle

2 Comments

Filed under Favorite Charities

2 responses to “Mofo 3: The Giving Mutt with Shelby – Beagle Freedom Project

  1. lazysmurf

    I was just talking to everyone in my office about the Beagle Freedom Project. I got the calendar last year so we always get to talk about the beagle of the month’s story.

  2. What a nice idea for spreading awareness.

Leave a Reply

