Mofo 4: Cookbook Obsession – Review of World Vegan Feast

Thanks to pregnancy-related insomnia, I’m about to catch-up on all my favorite early 90s sitcoms (actually, just Golden Girls and Married with Children, which always seem to be on when I’m awake in the wee hours of the morning).  But first, please enjoy this MoFo post…

World Vegan Feast is the most recent cookbook by Bryanna Clark Grogan, one of my favorite cookbook authors.  The book contains more than 200 pages of international recipes ranging from dishes that can easily be thrown together on a weeknight to special occasion recipes.  The book is loaded with interesting recipe notes and cooking tips.  The recipes I’ve tried have all been winners.  If I’m being picky, the book could have benefited from better page layout (some recipes start at the bottom of one page, so you need to flip back and forth while cooking) and, of course I wish there were more (and better quality) photos.

I haven’t cooked from this book nearly enough, but my favorite recipes so far have been the Creole French Toast and the Bahn Mi.

Over at the PPK, this book was one of the selections for the PPK Cookbook Challenge.  Participants pick at least three recipes they haven’t made before from the cookbook of the week, make them and report back on their results.  Since I’m currently 9 months pregnant, I chose recipes that wouldn’t require me to spend too long standing by the stove.

As I mentioned, the Bahn Mi (p. 61-63) was a favorite.  The recipe has multiple components (marinated seitan or soy curls, carrot pickle and sauce), but each component came together quickly and easily.  I used soy curls for my Bahn Mi, which cut back on marinating time since the curls soaked the marinade right up.  Veggie Husband and I took these sandwiches to our child-birth class and got a lot of jealous looks from the other parents.

The Roasted Sweet Potatoes with Moroccan Spices (p. 152) were another super easy dish.  The potatoes are sliced thinly, tossed with spices and then roasted until tender.  I served them as a side to cornmeal crusted tofu from Cookin’ Crunk for a quick and tasty fusion meal.  (I do eat my veggies — the salad we had is not pictured).

Finally, I made the Spicy Basque Garbanzo Bean Stew (p. 116) using homemade chorizo from Viva Vegan.  A flavorful sausage is essential to the success of this recipe since the stew itself doesn’t have any seasonings (other than salt).   The flavor of this dish improved as it sat, so I would definitely recommend making the stew a day or two before you intend to eat it.  It wasn’t my favorite dish, but it was easy to make and tasty enough.

3 Comments

Filed under Book reviews, Cookbooks

3 responses to “Mofo 4: Cookbook Obsession – Review of World Vegan Feast

  1. Hey, I’ll be doing this one too! Thanks for sharing about the banh mi. That’s one I’ve wanted to make but have just been lazy. I can get amazing seared lemongrass tofu banh mi literally down the street from where I live in Atlanta for $4.

  2. Wow. I think $4 is less than I spent on the ingredients for this banh mi.

Leave a Reply

