Mofo: Baby Hiatus

Please excuse the short hiatus while I recover from the birth of my handsome little veggie baby.

In the meantime, here’s a post I wrote before baby arrived:

A pregnant belly is an open invitation for complete strangers to offer well-meaning, but often useless commentary.  Here are a few that I hear a lot.

  1. Sleep now while you can:  Sleep? I can’t currently lay down, sit or even lean against a wall comfortable.  When I do manage to drift off, I’m up again 20 minutes later for the first of 3 dozen bathroom breaks.
  2. You don’t look like you gained any weight:  I know you mean this as a complement, but I own both a scale and a mirror.  I’m also fairly certain that I didn’t have a beach ball sized stomach before I was pregnant — even after eating a few too many cupcakes.
  3. Take time to do adult things now:  The only adult thing I’m currently interested in is sleep.  Everything else takes too much energy.
  4. If you’re tired, try an afternoon nap:  Because I don’t have a job…

Here’s something a pregnant lady will actually enjoy.

For this sundae (yes, I had some before taking the picture) I used a brownie recipe from La Dolce Vegan, store-bought So Delicious ice cream and hot fudge using a recipe adapted from the Pillsbury Complete Cookbook.

Hot Fudge

  • 1/2 c dark chocolate
  • 2/3 c. sugar
  • 2/3 c. non-dairy milk
  • pinch of salt

Heat non-dairy milk in a sauce pan over low heat.  When it comes to a simmer, stir in chocolate.  Keep stirring until chocolate is melted.  Stir in sugar and salt.  Cook until thickened and hot, stirring constantly.

(To avoid furthering the stereotype that pregnant women are only interested in junk food, I assure you that a healthy home-cooked meal would be equally appreciated.)

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Mofo: Baby Hiatus

  1. I just had a baby 2 months ago. Ah the joys of ridiculous comments from people.

    Congratulations!

Leave a Reply

