Mofo: Confessions of a Unitasker or Donuts!

After 5 days in the hospital, I’m excited to once again be eating food that tastes like something.  I don’t have a lot of time to cook, so I’ll be alternating between posts about my pre-baby cooking experiments and posts about what I’m currently eating.  (Hint: it came from the freezer).  Today, I bring you this important post about donuts.  Happy MoFoing everyone.

Donuts!

I love Alton Brown and I’ve learned a lot about cooking from him, but I think Alton would be very disappointed in me if he ever saw my kitchen.  I have more unitasking tools and appliances than I have places to store them — important items like my quesadilla maker, electric fondue pot and juicer (for the daily juice my husband planned to make and actually did make twice).

One purchase I’ve never regretted is my donut pan.  It only has one use, but baked donuts are a pretty important use if you ask me.  I made these chocolate dipped and cinnamon sugar donuts using the recipe in Chloe’s Kitchen.  Cinnamon sugar clings to fried donuts thanks to the residual frying grease, so a little ingenuity was required to coat these babies.  After making your favorite baked donut recipe, you will need the following to cinnamon sugar a half dozen:

  • 2 tbsp melted margarine
  • 3 tbsp sugar
  • 1 tbsp cinnamon

Mix together the cinnamon and sugar in a brown paper lunch bag.  Working with one donut at a time, lightly brush the donut with some melted margarine.  (You can also quickly dunk the donuts in the margarine, but don’t let them sit too long or they will soak up too much grease and you can no longer pretend they are healthy).  Drop the donut into the bag of cinnamon sugar and shake vigorously.  You should now have a perfectly coated donut.

Leave a comment

Filed under How To, Recipes from Cookbooks

Leave a Reply

