Mofo: Favorite Recipes – Sweet and Sour Tofu Balls

I still vividly remember the disaster that was my first attempt at cooking tofu.  I prepared a veggie stir-fry, opened a package of tofu, cubed it up and dumped it in.  Soon, my veggies were covered in a mushy, tasteless mess of crumbled tofu.  It took a long time, but I eventually gave tofu another chance.  (And thanks to my trusty cookbook collection, I learned that I should have pressed, marinated and sauteed or baked my tofu before dumping into my stir-fry).

One of my favorite tofu recipes is the Sweet and Sour Neatballs from Dreena Burton’s first cookbook, the Everyday Vegan.  Tofu is combined with veggies and seasonings, rolled into balls and baked.  The baked balls are topped with a perfectly balanced sweet and sour sauce.  I like to add sauteed onions, peppers and pineapple tidbits directly to the sauce.  (The sauce and balls should be kept separate until they are served because the balls are somewhat delicate).

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipes from Cookbooks

Leave a Reply

