Mofo: Cookbook Obsession – Review of Hearty Vegan Meals for Monster Appetites

Hearty Vegan Meals for Monster Appetites is packed full of creative twists on comfort-food recipes like barbeque tacos, orange chipotle “wings” and maple bacon donuts.  The book has color photos for many of the recipes, which I always consider a plus.

I’ve had good results with most of the recipes I’ve tried so far.  Stand-outs include the Baked Cinnamon Sugar Donuts (p. 67), which are yeast donuts baked in a muffin tin, and the Brocotato Soup (p.70).  The bacon flavored chickpea garnish for the soup is fantastic.

Since many recipes in this book are high in fat, I use the book for a once-in-a-while treat.  That made it easy to find recipes that I hadn’t made before, but was anxious to try.

One benefit of being home on maternity leave is that I  can (baby willing) make a hot breakfast in the middle of the week.  I will confess that all the cooking below was done before the baby was born.

I started with the Coconut Creme Brulee Baked Oatmeal (p. 43).  Oatmeal is baked in a coconut-milk based custard and then topped with brown sugar, which is carmelized under the broiler.  I baked my oatmeal in individual ramekins, reducing the baking time to 20 minutes.  I’m not usually a big oatmeal fan, but I really enjoyed this recipe.  The baking technique kept the oats firm and the custard creamy — much better than the oatmeal mush I usually wind up with using the stove.

Image

After making the oatmeal, I had half a can of coconut milk left over.  Since I love pina coladas, the Pina Colada French Toast (p. 20) was an obvious choice.  Bread is dipped in a coconut-milk batter and then fried.  The french toast slices are topped with candied macadamia nuts, pineapple slices and rum syrup.  To save time, I skipped candying the nuts, but made all the other components.  As a coconut lover, I would have liked the coconut flavor to shine through more.  Next time, I’ll probably add some coconut extract.  Overall, though, this was another winner.

Image

Finally, I made the Jalapeno Hot Dogs (p. 111).  I served them topped with salsa and Nacho Cheese Sauce from the Ultimate Uncheese Cookbook.  Veggie Husband ate 3 dogs, so I think this recipe was a winner.

Image

Update December 31, 2013:  The new edition of this book has been renamed Home-Cooked Vegan Comfort Food.  The cover is new, but the recipes are the same.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Book reviews, Cookbooks

Leave a Reply

