Mofo: My Week In Food 2

Sadly, my parents went home last Saturday, leaving Veggie Husband and I on our own when it comes to baby care.  I can’t believe how much harder it is to get things done without the extra help (especially now that the little guy has been having tummy trouble).

Here’s what we had for dinner this week:

Sunday – French Onion Soup from Fresh from the Vegetarian Slow Cooker.  Using the slow cooker was a great idea.  I was able to throw the ingredients in during the baby’s morning nap and dinner was ready once we finally got the baby calmed down in the evening.  Unfortunately, I thought this version of onion soup turned out a little bland and I don’t think I would make it again.

Monday – Pasta with Marinara and Meatballs.  More pre-made and pre-frozen sauce with store-bought meatballs.

Tuesday – Takeout falafel platter and lemonade from Gaby’s.  This place is up the block from our apartment, but we’ve never tried it.  The falafel wrap is just $5 and the platter just $8.  For the price, this was a decent meal.

Wednesday – Meatball subs using leftover meatballs from Monday.

Thursday – takeout pizza.  Given how much pizza we’ve been eating, you may be wondering if we live upstairs from a pizza place.  Why, yes.  Yes, we do.

Friday – Italian Tofu from Vegan with a Vengeance, baked sweet potato, frozen mixed vegetables.  Marinated tofu is a great option for a busy day.  I pressed the tofu on Thursday:

After 24 hours in the Tofu Xpress, tofu is very firm and ready to absorb marinade.  On Friday morning, I marinated the tofu.  Then, at dinner time, I threw the tofu into my grill pan and cooked it for 5 minutes on each side.  In total, dinner was on the table in less than 25 minutes (spread out in 5 to 10 minute blocks over 2 days).  Check out those grill marks:

Leave a comment

Filed under Veg Parenting

Leave a Reply

