Thanksgiving Feast – The Photos

This year, I was thankful for my little guy and even more thankful that he took a perfectly timed nap so that Veggie Husband and I could enjoy the meal I spent all morning preparing.

For an appetizer, I made the No Tell Ro*Tel Dip from Cookin’ Crunk.  (According to the can of Ro*Tel, Ro*Tel dip  involves Velvetta and Ro*Tel, which is a brand of diced tomatoes with green chiles). The recipe notes in Cookin’ Crunk say that the recipe is sure to fool omnivores at the next church potluck.  I’m not from the South and have never tried “real” Ro*Tel dip, so I can’t tell you whether that’s true.  However, I thoroughly enjoyed the dip on tortilla chips and carrot and celery sticks and would gladly make it again.

No Tell Ro*Tel Dip from Cookin’ Crunk

The main event was a seitan roast with lots of sides.  Here’s the full spread:

The centerpiece of the meal was a Vegan Turkey Roast from the Everyday Dish website.  I first made this roast several years ago, and it’s one of my absolute favorite seitan recipes.  The method of boiling in cheesecloth and then baking yields a moist roast that is not the least bit spongy.  When I asked Veggie Husband what he wanted for Thanksgiving, this roast was his only request.  The recipe is available online and well worth checking out.

Everyday Dish Vegan Turkey

Of all the sides I made, my favorite was It’s Thyme for Creamy Scalloped Potatoes from Chloe’s Kitchen.  The recipe uses a cashew based cream sauce that baked up creamy and delicious.  I had to cook mine 15 minutes longer than indicated in the recipe.

Chloe’s Kitchen Scalloped Potatoes

I also made the Maple Roasted Brussels Sprouts from Chloe’s Kitchen.  These sprouts were good, but I think I prefer a savory sprout.

Chloe’s Kitchen Sprouts

I can’t imagine Thanksgiving without stuffing.  (Growing up, my cousin and I had a special holiday tradition of feeding my uncle’s sausage stuffing to the dog.  Although many of my family members raved about that stuffing, I much preferred Stove Top.)  When I found cooked chesnuts at Trader Joes, I decided stuffing would be the perfect way to try this new-to-me food.  I prepared a vegetarian version of this Martha Stewart recipe that I found online.  I halved the recipe, reduced the butter to 2 tablespoons of Earth Balance and replaced the chicken stock with 3 cups prepared Better Than Boullion “chicken” broth.  Although I enjoyed the stuffing, I was indifferent to the chestnuts and probably wouldn’t buy them again.

Chestnut Stuffing

Here’s my plate, which is piled high with all of the above plus cranberry sauce, yams, a biscuit and my own recipe for “chicken” gravy.  (Check back for a future post with the gravy recipe).

Sadly, the Cranberry Custard Pie I made from Vegan Desserts was not photogenic enough to warrant a picture.  Although the pie tasted great, I had a problem getting the cream topping to set properly.  (I think the issue was the tub of shortening that I used.  It was difficult to scoop out the correct amount and I think that the shortening melted as I scraped away at it, resulting in a liquidy cream).

2 Comments

Filed under Food In General, Recipes from Cookbooks

2 responses to “Thanksgiving Feast – The Photos

  1. jac

    i almost made that cranberry pie. the topping sounded strange to me but i still want to try it. what kind of shortening did you use?

  2. I used Spectrum Organic. I think the issue was that I didn’t bring it to room temperature before scooping from the tub. Trying to scoop cold shortening was not a good idea. The topping still tasted really good. It’s just a runny mess.

Leave a Reply

