A Bit O’ The Irish Cooking

In honor of Saint Patrick’s Day, I thought of sharing my Irish grandmother’s secret mashed potato recipe (Boil potatoes, mash and serve.  Do NOT add milk, butter or salt.  As grandma would say, no one likes those “newfangled spices.”)  Fortunately, I didn’t inherit my grandma’s palate and my favorite Saint Patrick’s Day dinner is big on flavor.

For the past 5 years, I have made this Irish Stew recipe from the March 2008 issue of Vegetarian Times.  I omit the butternut squash and double the carrots and onions.  The stew only takes about 40 minutes to make, but thanks to the addition of stout, it has a complex slow-cooked flavor.

CIMG2522

I serve the stew with the salad (sans eggs) from the same article.  For the dressing, I replace the buttermilk with soy milk and a splash of lemon juice.  With it’s sweet, tangy and creamy dressing, this salad is one of my absolute favorites.  This year, it looked extra pretty thanks to the multi-colored radishes I found at the farmers’ market.

CIMG2521

Finally, I couldn’t resist these Chocolate Beer Cupcakes with Irish Cream Frosting from Chloe’s Vegan Desserts.   This was the first recipe I attempted from that book and I was pleased with the results.  The cupcakes were moist and light and the stout in the batter really accented the chocolate flavor.  I’m looking forward to more baking experiments using Chloe’s recipes.CIMG2520

Leave a comment

Filed under Magazine Recipes, Recipes from Cookbooks

Leave a Reply

