20 Days of Happiness Part 10 – Fruitcake Martinis

There’s a scene in A Muppet Family Christmas where Ernie and Burt (from Sesame Street) have a conversation with Doc (from Fraggles) and Ernie and Burt can’t help pointing out what letter every word begins with.  “Bunk beds: B words!” they say as Ernie chortles.  When Doc looks at them askance they explain, “Where we come from, this is small talk.”  My sister once said that the scene reminded her of our family — except that complaining, not letters, are our family’s small talk.  It’s not that we are unhappy people.  We just like to air our grievances.  But sometimes it’s good to air positive feelings too and that’s just what I plan to do.  For my next 11 posts, I’ll focus on the many reasons I have to be happy.

????????

MAY THE CALENDAR KEEP BRINGING HAPPY HOLIDAYS TO YOU

I love pretty much everything about the Christmas season.  For the entire month of December, I’m basically an overgrown child watching endless Christmas specials, listening to carols on repeat and stuffing my face with Christmas cookies.  Since I’m technically an adult, I get to pair the whole experience with the perfect holiday cocktail.  The recipe for this Fruitcake Martini came from the December issue of VegNews, which has an entire cocktail feature.  It combines cake flavored vodka, pineapple rum, triple sec and cranberry juice for a festive boozy delight.  (Veggie Husband pronounced it “really, really good.”)

Unfortunately, due to a series of back-to-back-to-back colds, my December was lighter on cocktails then I would have liked.  This weekend was my first opportunity to sip one while gazing at our tree.  Fortunately, my family tradition is to leave the tree up until January 6 (the Epiphany), so I have another week to have my fruitcake and drink it too.

Leave a comment

Filed under Magazine Recipes, Recipes from Magazines

Leave a Reply

