20 Days of Happiness Part 11 – Tofu Scramble

There’s a scene in A Muppet Family Christmas where Ernie and Burt (from Sesame Street) have a conversation with Doc (from Fraggles) and Ernie and Burt can’t help pointing out what letter every word begins with.  “Bunk beds: B words!” they say as Ernie chortles.  When Doc looks at them askance they explain, “Where we come from, this is small talk.”  My sister once said that the scene reminded her of our family — except that complaining, not letters, are our family’s small talk.  It’s not that we are unhappy people.  We just like to air our grievances.  But sometimes it’s good to air positive feelings too and that’s just what I plan to do.  For my next 10 posts, I’ll focus on the many reasons I have to be happy.

????????

WEEKEND BREAKFAST ON A WEDNESDAY OR HAPPY NEW YEAR

Ah, the joys of sleeping in and then enjoying a big breakfast on the couch in your jammies — two things I know nothing about now that I have a kid.  Fortunately, I still get the joy of a hot breakfast on Saturday provided that it takes 15 minutes or less to cook (which is approximately the time that my son is willing to be entertained by his grandparents on Skype before he sets out in search of electric sockets in which to insert metal tools).  Our Saturdays are divided roughly 70/30 pancakes/tofu scramble.

This New Year’s Eve, my husband subtly hinted that he was in the mood for tofu scramble by purchasing a package of tofu and giving it to me “in case you feel like making tofu scramble.”  Weekend breakfast on a Wednesday sounded pretty good to me, so I kicked off the New Year by making the Sleepy Sunday Morning Scramble from Sara Kramer’s La Dolce Vegan AKA the Only Tofu Scramble I Ever Make.  It is the only scramble I ever make because it is far and away the tastiest version I’ve tried (and I’ve tried at least half a dozen).  For those new to scramble, you will find that it looks freakishly like scrambled eggs, but tastes almost nothing like them.  Still it is satisfying in its own right and pairs wonderfully with a toasted bread product and maybe some veggie sausage.

She who starts the new year with tofu scramble, toast with lavender berry jam and a good cup of coffee is surely starting the year off on the right foot.

Wishing you peace and joy in the year to come . . .  

1 Comment

Filed under Recipes from Cookbooks

One response to “20 Days of Happiness Part 11 – Tofu Scramble

  1. Pingback: New Year’s Brunch | veggielawyer

Leave a Reply

