On New Years and Resolutions

Photo courtesy of www.localfitness.com.au

When I lived in Boston, I was a member of a women’s gym that was amazing for 46 weeks of the year.  But for the first 6 weeks of the year, it was miserable.  The locker room was packed so full that I often had to wait 20 minutes just to have a place to stash my purse.  When I finally got to my yoga or step class, I would spend an hour dodging feet and elbows (partly because I’m extremely clumsy, but mostly because the classes were too damn crowded).  I would complain that the gym had sold too many memberships and the staff would tell me to wait it out until February when the New Year’s Resolution crew stopped showing up.  Sure enough, by mid-February, I had my choice of lockers, treadmills and yoga mats.

I generally forgo New Year’s resolutions because making a half-hearted attempt to be better in January because that’s when everyone else is doing it seems like a recipe for failure.  This year, though, I have some goals that I want to accomplish and starting in January gives me that much more time to accomplish them before the year ends.  First and foremost, my goal is to get rid of the number one source of unhappiness in my life — my job.  I hope that by posting my goal here, I will be accountable to myself and remain committed to finding a new job.

Healthier eating is a popular New Year’s resolution and, in that spirit,  I’m also working on reviews of two healthy cookbooks: 365 Vegan Smoothies and Appetite for Reduction.  I’ll be using the reviews as an opportunity to up my intake of vegetables and whole grains because, even though I eat a fairly balanced diet, I often fall short in these areas.  I’m also working on an in-depth review of Isa Does It, along with my own tips for getting home-cooked food on the table during the work week.  Finally, I’ll be continuing with my happiness series.  My goal is to bring all of this content to you before the New Year’s Resolution Crew stops hitting the gym.

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

