Vegan Mofo 1: Vegan Eats in Vancouver

I’m somehow not on the official blog roll for this year’s Vegan MoFo.  I suppose I should have confirmed my registration was successful sooner than 9 days into MoFo.  Live and learn, it seems.  Though I’m disappointed not to be an official participant, I’m going ahead with blogging this month anyway. 

We’re in a transition period here in the Veggie Lawyer household following my decision to quit my job and move 3,000 miles to be closer to family.  In keeping with our life situation, the theme I have chosen for the month is “Try Something New.”  I’ll be trying new foods, doing new things and making recipes for the first time.  Then, I’ll blog them here.

2 Days in Vancouver

At 2 a.m. this morning, my husband, son and I returned from a 9 day trip to Canada and Alaska.  Our original plan had been to travel in Eastern Europe, but my husband wimped out due to the current instability in Ukraine (which was not on the list of countries we planned to visit).  To placate me, he agreed to go on a Disney Cruise to Alaska. Since the ship departed from Vancouver, we arrived 2 days early to explore the town.

This was my first visit to Vancouver and I loved it.  It has the beautiful scenery and laid-back vibe that encapsulate what I love about the Pacific Northwest.  As a bonus, I found it relatively easy to find things to eat.

On our first night in town, we had dinner at Chill Winston in Gastown.  Chill Winston is not vegan, but they do have a few vegan items on the menu.  We enjoyed a relaxing time sipping cocktails and people watching on the patio while my son snoozed in his stroller.   (We attempted to wake him for dinner, but he loudly demanded to be returned to the stroller).  Because I’m  a lover of gin, I started with the War in Heaven, which featured cucumber-infused gin.  I like the flavor of the drink, but didn’t love the cucumber seeds floating in it.

????????

For dinner, I had a lovely coconut curry.  Based upon the menu description, I was expecting a Thai-style curry, but the flavors of the dish were definitely more Indian.

????????

On our second day in town, we explored Stanley Park.

???????? ????????

For dinner, we headed to Graze, an all vegan joint.  I had mixed feelings about our experience.  I thought the appetizer (the Antipasti Board) was a little lacking in the flavor department. (The antipasti spread included 2 types of cheese, pickles, pears, not-very-smokey smoked tofu and bruschetta topping).

????????

I did enjoy my main (the Paella) .

????????

The cocktail I ordered (I think it was the Spectrum) was the highlight for me – so yummy.  Unfortunately, the portions were huge and I didn’t have room to try dessert.  My husband pronounced the meal “just okay.”  I think we are spoiled having enjoyed so many great vegan restaurants in L.A. because the local Vancouver diners seemed to be loving this place.

????????

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Travel

Leave a Reply

