Twenty Days of Happiness – Part 16 – It’s My Party and I’ll Eat Rum-Spiked Pancakes If I Want To

There’s a scene in A Muppet Family Christmas where Ernie and Burt (from Sesame Street) have a conversation with Doc (from Fraggles) and Ernie and Burt can’t help pointing out what letter every word begins with.  “Bunk beds: B words!” they say as Ernie chortles.  When Doc looks at them askance they explain, “Where we come from, this is small talk.”  My sister once said that the scene reminded her of our family — except that complaining, not letters, are our family’s small talk.  It’s not that we are unhappy people.  We just like to air our grievances.  But sometimes it’s good to air positive feelings too and that’s just what I plan to do.  In this 20-part series, I focus on the many reasons I have to be happy.

Two Birthdays Worth Celebrating

dscn1010

Between my husband’s birthday, my birthday and Mother’s Day, May is pretty much a non-stop celebration in our house and that’s definitely something to be thankful for. This year, being back in Boston after a nearly 10 year absence made our birthdays extra special.  I kicked my day off by making Tiramisu Pancakes from Chloe’s Vegan Desserts.  I’ve had my eye on this recipe since I bought the book. Pancakes packed with rum, coffee and chocolate chips are not your everyday pancakes, but they were perfect for a special birthday breakfast — especially topped with whipped cream.  (I substituted soy milk for the water, but otherwise made the recipe as written).

dscn1013

We spent the day exploring the harbor area and Greenway.  When you look at the sparkling harbor and ribbons of park land, it’s amazing to think that one was formerly a Superfund site and the other a highway.  (The Big Dig was actually still going on when we moved to Los Angeles in 2005, so the way that the Greenway used to look is fresh in my mind).

We celebrated my husband’s birthday with a night out with friends and a s’mores cake.  I used the recipes for s’mores cupcakes and chocolate cupcakes from Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World to make a 2 layer cake filled with ricemellow cream and chocolate chips and topped with vanilla buttercream and graham cracker crumbs.

dscn1011

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipes from Cookbooks

Leave a Reply

